love

Love is Healing Pt I

While I was at work about a week ago, something opened my eyes to see that I could advance further in the plans I’ve written down as an aspiring novelist and entrepreneur/businessman and investor. Writing is something I want to do for living, however in the same token, I also believe my past experiences will be used for a bigger purpose than writing.

In addition to the epiphany I had at work, I received an unexpected phone call from a friend who I haven’t heard from in quite sometime. I immediately knew that God had a message for me, since I’ve been praying diligently for Him to answer a prayer. As much as I write about love, there are moments I wish I could experience the things I write about. Sometimes I have to turn my desire to experience unconditional love off and just write about it—not keeping my wants in mind. I guess its like writing about something that’s emotional while detaching your emotions from the topic. The telephone conversation confirmed that I needed to allow love to fall into place in my life, and this is something that I already know, but often forget. Sometimes, we as human beings just need further confirmation or some type of answer presented to us on our level that we can understand and not further question. For now, things aren’t about me, because my time will come to meet and know that great woman. During my time of being patient for love, it’s about readers who read my work. Having someone tell me that they were moved to the point of tears or inspired by the quotes and blogs I share on Facebook, brings fulfillment. I’m content with giving the public a part of myself while I wait to meet my wife. This is more important than my personal desires right now, which brings me to the second confirmation I received from the phone conversation with my friend.

I deeply believe I’ve been given the gift and the task to inspire singles to think critically about love before committing to a relationship, and for married couples to cherish each and every moment with each other.  Seeing the impact that my parent’s divorce had on each other and my siblings and I, as I shared in the header section, “Why I write about Unconditional Love,” drives me write about love with such passion and without care or concern of how others may view me. I’m not drunk or infatuated about the topic of love, nor am I an overly sensitive guy spilling his heart out on Facebook or via blogs. I write with an aim and purpose in mind. I don’t want people to experience what my parents went through, neither do I. I truly desire to see couples reach greater heights in their intimacy, love and relationship with one another. I want people to experience joy and feel appreciated whenever they step foot into each other’s presence. I feel that offer others hope by writing unapologetically and with conviction. It also doesn’t hurt that I am a man writing about matters of the heart.  In order to have the kind of relationship you desire to have one day with that special person, it’s pertinent that you heal from whatever hurts and pains from your past. Healing is possible through loving yourself, unconditionally. That means, love you weaknesses and hang up’s, but this shouldn’t translate to being content and comfortable with them. The love that you give and show yourself will heal and soothe the soul. This is how transformation takes place. I know there are millions of single individuals in this world, praying and waiting to meet the love of their life, and love hasn’t come… yet they are wounding from previous relationships and from other experiences in life. I’m also sure there are millions of married couples that are praying and waiting for the match of love and trust to be lit again, but nothing has changed. There is a reason why love hasn’t come or changed hasn’t taken place.

Stay tuned for part II of Love is healing. I’m going to share three reasons how to position you to experience true, unconditional love.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Love is Healing Pt I

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for sharing it was what i really needed to hear. Love starts within ourselves before we can truely love and give to another. I can’t wait to read Part 2!

    • Melvin Davis says:

      You’re welcome, and I’m elated that my blog resonated with you.

      Love does start within ourselves. Also, in loving the self, we discover our value and what we have to offer as individuals and romantic partners.

      Pt. II is on the way. I wanted to finish it yesterday but I was too tired when I got in after work.

  2. During my uni years I was so interested in love and committed to writing poems and short stories about it. Love is a strange and powerful emotion and state of mind I dont think we will ever understand.

    Your post is very interesting. I look forward to reading the second part.

    Nissi x

  3. Ashanti says:

    Hello Melvin,
    I cryed when I read this blog. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to reding more. Thank you for sharing.
    Ashanti

    • Melvin Davis says:

      Ashanti,

      Hi there.

      Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog.

      You’re welcome for me sharing.

      I hope the tears you cried were ones of peace or closure. When I say this, I don’t mean this in a bad way: Whether emotionally, intellectually or spiritually, I want readers to see what I see and feel what I feel in my writing. There were certain points, while writing my first novel, where I had into insert my entire being into the words and my characters so readers could feel what they feel. I imagine them laughing at the points I laughed at in my novel, and become deeply emotional in others. This is my way of inviting you into my way of perceiving the world around me and all the wonderful things it has to offer, as well as the unfortunate things. I also want readers to experience healing and understanding. It’s always my sincere intentions for a reader to leave my blogs, and the novels they will read from me, feeling somewhat revived or a sense of faith and hope restored.

      Feel free to contact me via email, or if we’re friends on FB, inbox me. I’ll make the time to respond to you.

      Ashanti, thanks again.

      Sincerely,

      Melvin

Leave a Reply

