love

The Consequences of Seeking Love Before Your Purpose! Pt. I

There is a time to love, and a time to seek your purpose. Wise is the person who finds love seeking their purpose than the one who seeks love not knowing who they are. Your purpose is a part of who you are.–Melvin Davis

I want to say up front this blog isn’t intended to be preachy or judgmental. It’s never my intentions to do either. What I want to do is encourage you prioritize what’s important in your life. I’ve made my mistakes in the past so it would be impossible for me to uphold a posture of perfection or as a man who has it altogether. But I will say I am not the same person from my latter years.

Over the past year so, since I’ve been writing on the topic of love, my readers often engage me in questions or request my insight about their relationships. Whether verbally or through written word, I listen and read what’s not being said. And what’s not being, is more than likely, is what a person really wants to say but cannot say it because what they are experiencing is clouding their ability unearth the truth behind what they feel and think about their relationship and the other person. I help people articulate what they want to say and see what they need to see, so that they will have clear direction to act accordingly to avoid hurt. After it’s all said and done, it’s ultimately their decision to take what they receive and apply.

Once upon a time I was man that was so engaged in finding love, mainly for the reason that I felt that I needed someone else in my life to feel alive, loved and valued. And if I am honest, although I have conquered loneliness, I still have moments of loneliness. I’m aware that loneliness and a sense of belongingness is a part of the human condition. We are created to be in relationship with one another, whether friendship or romantically. Resolving the issues within that are toxic to you and others, learning who you are, and the main message in this blog, discovering your purpose before seeking love, will help you defeat loneliness. I would be lying to you if I said that there aren’t benefits of having a great person in your life, whom you could trust and converse with sincerity and passion with, as well as share moments of humor that follows laughter from the belly (good times), someone you could grow spiritually with by letting them see how you’re personal and intimate relationship with God is like. A person’s relationship with God reveals who they are, how they think about like, how they see you in the context as lover, as friend. I believe God is a great God, therefore, the great woman He blesses me with; I will treat with a high level of respect and adoration, and love her in an awesome way that’s inclusive of mind, body and spirit. I like to coin these three entities as the trinity of love, a holistic way of loving someone.

In part II of this blog, I will elaborate on the consequences of seeking love before your purpose. Then I will conclude with the benefits to end on an inspirational note.

As always, thanks for reading. And by all means, leave comments. I encourage them. I’m interested in what you have to say.

Standard

5 thoughts on “The Consequences of Seeking Love Before Your Purpose! Pt. I

  1. Chrystal says:

    Thank You Melvin…. I am at a place in my life where it was imperative that I read this blog…. I must say that this blog helped me to get back on track….. Again I thank you.

    • Melvin Davis says:

      You’re welcome, Chrystal.

      It’s a wonderful to know that my blog helped you refocused and get back on track. I hope you enjoy part II as well 🙂

  2. Tiffanie Foster says:

    This was very powerful. Whenever I have been in relationships, I have always asked God, “Does this person even align with the purpose you have given me?” “Are they strong enough spiritually and mentally to stand during the test that are meant for me to travel through to reach my divine purpose in you?” or “Will I spend more time mending and molding a relationship that was never supposed to be connected… spending more time untangling the knotted soul tie… than seeking your face and walking my purpose?” The time I have wasted trying to build a falsified kingdon, rather than working on the kingdom at hand. This blog has quickly reminded me of the importance of truly placing GOD as the head of your life and decisions. Thank you for sharing the learned wisdom you have gained, and the insights that the holy spirit revealed to you so others may not have to travel and wonder in an unnecessary spiritual wilderness. God bless you, Melvin!

Leave a Reply

