love

Why It’s Difficult to Find Love in Today’s Dating Climate? The Introduction

Over the past few weeks, a few encounters and two recent conversations inspired me to blog about the topic of why it’s difficult to find love in today’s dating climate. Although this blog, at first, may paint a broad stroke of hopelessness or impossibility of ever finding love, however, I can’t help but conclude my blog series instilling faith. Smile, because there’s always hope for the hopeful romantic.

I’ve come to the conclusion that individuals such as myself, who desire to experience true love in today’s dating climate, will be extremely hard to find. I find finding true love to be literally like finding a needle in a haystack. Why? Because there’s a certain kind of ethos and fear that both men and women practice in America, as well as a commercial trends that are adopted from what is viewed on television, radio/music. If entertainment has become your barometer of finding love and loving someone else, you’re in trouble. I’m not indicating that all of what you see and hear is garbage, but the truth is, most of it is.

These elements I described above further complicates and contaminates the dating atmosphere, thus, encouraging people to a) play games, b) settle for less because they believe they will find nothing better and c) not get involved with anyone at all because their patience has run dry.

I plan to touch on the reasons why people play games. I’m gong to couch this discussion in what I call The Option Theory: Sampling. As it pertains to people settling for someone they truly don’t want to be with, I like to call this The Substitutionary Theory: Substituting finding true love for the sake of Convenience. And those who cut off their emotional side to weather through the messy storms of the dating world, I tip my hat off to you. It takes a great deal of discipline to abstain from relationships and intimacy. Many have the gift of singleness, but I don’t. I’m sorry to say that God is my only hope of finding true love.

Stay tuned.

.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Why It’s Difficult to Find Love in Today’s Dating Climate? The Introduction

  1. Ariel Driskell says:

    You should definitely not feel sorry that God is your only hope of finding true love. Who better to assist you in finding your soul mate than the person who created you? When we do things on our own, or ignore what he tells us to do, that’s when we get into trouble, and have difficulty finding the unconditional love he wants us to experience.

    • Melvin Davis says:

      Ariel,

      The comment I made about putting my trust in God in finding the “right one” was not meant one to be taken in an extreme, serious light lol. While there’s truth to what I said, I was inserting some humor into the statement 🙂

      Where can I read your blog about love and blueberry bagels?

      • Ariel Driskell says:

        Lol, oh my bad, but my point still stands. No worries, I’ll just post it to your fb page so you won’t have to go looking for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

