love

The person God sends for you to become one with will bring out the best in you. They will add to your purpose—not distract you from it. —Melvin Davis

Someone asked me would my ministry (writing and teaching about love) be affected if I got involved in a serious relationship or when I get married? I answered no, and here’s why.

I believe the person God has for you will be a blessing to you in every aspect of your life. This doesn’t suggest you will marry the perfect person or have the perfect marriage. But I truly believe, if your future husband or wife has a close, intimate relationship with God, they will add to your life and not distract or subtract from it. And they will stand and still believe in you when things aren’t so great.

I see my future wife as a gift, a token of God’s act of unconditional love, as well as His grace and mercy towards me. In a way, while I’m waiting, it’s like God is saying to me: “I’m making you wait so you really appreciate and honor the woman I’m going to bless you to grow old with. I want you to wait you so you can be everything she wants you to be to her. I want you to wait because I’m giving you insight, a foundation for which will make a marriage last and keep the love; the vitality and spark going years to come, so don’t rush to experiencing love. Knowing this allows me to write about love in the way that I do, so just imagine how would write once that special woman is in my life. A few years ago I met someone and fell in love with. Although things never worked out, that situation inspired my novel and many of my poems. I didn’t know I could feel the way I did or be as vulnerable and transparent as I am now. I discovered myself. So just imagined what kind of impact your future wife, or my future wife for that matter, or your future husband will have on you once God aligns you up with them.  They will make you a better person and keep you focused on your purpose.

The person God …

Quote

4 thoughts on “The person God …

  1. Anonymous says:

    Waiting can be difficult….lonely, and oftentime, we may feel hopeless. But if we will remind myself of the reward, as you have so clearly described….we can rejoice, while we wait. Thanks for your power-filled message!

    • Melvin Davis says:

      You’e welcome

      I know all about those feeling in which you described above. I write about what I have to wait for. But in hindsight, there’s a reason for the wait: singleness is a time of preparation 🙂

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Melvin I truly understand what you are looking for. I myself have had the opportunity to reevaluate myself as a woman and also my relationship with God. I have learned that patience, prayer, love and devotion to both God and ones self conquers all.

Leave a Reply

