love

Love Never Dies

She could remember that day in the noon showered by cherry blossoms

I kneeled to propose to her, and tears fell instantly from her eyes

Overwhelmed with joy, she couldn’t articulate any words

That was the best day of my life

Today, we sit rocking on the swing on our beautiful front porch

Our skin, a bit wrinkle, our figure, still tone and lean but we hold up just fine for each other eyes

We laugh, looking at our wedding photos, but a profound silence falls over us

“I’m glad I chose you,” she whispered

“Here’s something I want to give you.”

We walked through green grassy fields showered by cherry blossoms

I knelt on one knee and pulled out a ring. “Will you marry me?”

“But we already are?” she said with tears flowing, preparing to breathe her last breath

“This is to spend eternity in heaven.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

