In this scene, Jennifer and her new acquaintance Samantha made reservations at a restaurant. To make use of their time, they decided to scroll around the mall. A conversation comes about “finding the one,” and “soul mates.”

“Isn’t this beautiful?” Samantha said, approaching Tiffany & Co. Stung by Samantha’s remark, Jennifer had decided to cool it with Samantha, but she was instantly awestruck when saw the huge, diamond-clustered, platinum ring on display. She got closer, nearly pressing her face against the window to see.

“It is,” Jennifer said in a low voice, tucking her words under the hope of marrying the man she’d yearned and prayed to be with.

“Ever plan to get married?” Samantha asked.

“I‘d love to get married,” Jennifer said with a mixture of optimism and defeat.

”You don’t sound too sure.”

“I would. Some day. I have no control over that,” Jennifer answered, turning her attention briefly to Samantha. “This time around, I’m no longer making decisions based solely on how I feel about someone. There must be a sign from heaven,” she said with strong conviction, returning her attention to the ring. “What I feel has to be beyond emotional,” she said solemnly. “Which I think I felt recently.”

“With David?” Samantha asked.

“Yes. When I first saw him last night, and this morning too. I felt something stirring within. Never felt that before, to be honest—kind of scared me. He felt it too. He told me this morning, but I didn’t let him know that I did. I was too scared.”

“Scared of what?” Asked Samantha.

“I don’t know.”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about, but it sounds like you believe in soul mates.”

“I’m not sure,” Jennifer said, still staring at the ring. She pictured someone sliding that beautiful piece of jewelry onto her finger. “I thought my ex was my soulmate, but I was wrong. I guess having a deep connection with someone really doesn’t mean they’re your soulmate.”

“I don’t believe in those romantic theories—like soulmates,” said Samantha matter-of-factly. “You choose whoever you please.” She looked at Jennifer, who was still gazing at the ring. “Wanna try it on?”

“Uh, sure—couldn’t hurt.” Jennifer smiled sheepishly, and they went inside the store.

This time around, Jennifer is looking for something else beyond of what her emotions can tell her about someone or to determine if she’s found the one God set aside for her. I believe that many women (men too) face this dilemma.

Emotions come and go. They fluctuate. The move from hot to lukewarm to cold. One day, you’re really into someone, and the next day you aren’t. I believe when the time comes, when God prompts our heart to fully receive who he has in front of us, you’ll know.

My novel Love Again is slated to be released in June. If you like to support my campaign in raising funds for the professional services I need to release a quality novel, here’s the link to contribute. I’m offering free incentives to donator’s, which is outlined on my fundraiser page. Thanks for your time.

http://igg.me/at/MelvinDavis/x/6665495

Leave a Reply

