Beach
Faith, God's Will, love, marriage, Melvin Davis, Patience, Relationships

Before You ask “Will You” and Before You say, “I do.”

I’ve never been engaged or married. Never came close. I learned a lot from one serious relationship, yet I was never the relationship kind of guy. You may think otherwise. My writing content may suggest so, but I write with the aim in mind to prevent others from making critical mistakes. I write with the aim in mind for you to seek the will of God before you ask, “will you?” and before you say, “I do.” I always saw relationshipsalso as a serious long-term commitment. In a way, I viewed relationships like marriage. I saw a lot at stake. Relationships are a physical, emotional and spiritual investment. Lives intersect, experiences are exchanged, bonds develop and souls knit together. You almost become one. And you know what getting physical (sex) does. It heightens every emotion you have for that person and cements a spiritual bond that’s going to be tough to break when the relationship doesn’t work out. When God says, wait until marriage, it’s for your good.

At this stage in my life, I see investing time in people or getting into a relationship more critical than ever. Conversing and socializing with people are intentional. They will have purpose. I don’t believe in wasting time or getting into a committed relationship because I can or when the feeling of loneliness surface. I don’t approach love with a “see where it goes” attitude. Maybe that’s appropriate when you’re younger. But even in my youth, I still didn’t approach love that way. I knew the severity of it. I was aware of the impact it could have on my life and vice versa. People take it really hard when a relationship doesn’t work out and rightfully so. High expectations and promises at stake.

I challenge you to seek the will of God with all your mind, heart, soul and spirit. Get alone with God and get in His face. Ask yourself, am I in the will of God and if this relationship or marriage is what God has for me? No one is perfect, but God’s will is. Ups and downs, agreements and disagreements are inevitable. That’s called being human. That’s called growth and learning one another, however, when God hand is something, He protects and preserves it. He helps you grow in place where you may fall apart. People fall apart in tough places, because the grace to sustain what’s fractured isn’t there. There’s grace in the will of God.

The person God has for you is there to enjoy life with. They are there to help you fulfill the will of God. They are in your life to grow in Christ together. If you are second-guessing any decision you made and you don’t feel peace in your heart, investigate why. God will not hold back an answer from you.

I pray God’s love and protection, His grace and mercy, to cover your life. It’s in Jesus name that I pray, amen!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

